Selection of experienced industry experts elected to take on section chair roles at BSIA

At the British Security Industry Association’s (BSIA) Annual General Meeting held on Wednesday 12 July, 24 industry experts were elected to represent the Trade Association’s various sections of membership. Each of the Association’s sections of membership – which cover all aspects of the private security industry – are led by a chairman and vice-chairman who help to facilitate the vital discussions held at quarterly section meetings. Throughout their term, they will help the BSIA to identify the key issues within their sectors that a collaborative endeavour can achieve in order to progress the industry.

James Kelly, CEO of the BSIA, commented: “The BSIA’s membership and the very important contributions it makes to the industry is something about which the Association is extremely proud. Our members are committed to working collectively to ensure that the industry continues to advance. Indeed, many of the key developments in the sector have been largely down to their expertise and commitment.”

Kelly added: “I would like to extend a warm welcome to all of our newly-elected chairmen who will be carrying the work of their respective sections forward, while also expressing my gratitude to all previous section chairmen for their contributions to the organisation and, indeed, the security industry as a whole.”

Dirk Wilson enters the second year of his term as chairman of the BSIA and Simon Adcock, CEO of ATEC Fire and Security, was elected as vice-chairman of the Association. Adcock will take up the role of chairman in July 2018.

The BSIA would also like to thank Pauline Norstrom, managing director of NetVu, for her contributions to the Association over the last four years in which she has held the positions of vice-chairman, chairman (for two years) and, latterly, immediate past-chairman.

The complete list of BSIA section chairmen and vice-chairmen is as follows:

Access and Asset Protection

Chairman: Ray Jones (RGL Electronics)

Vice-Chairman: Brian Stemp (ADT Fire and Security)

Asset and Property Marking

Chairman: James Brown (Selectamark Security Systems)

Vice-Chairman: TBC

Cash and Valuables in Transit

Chairman: Rob Johnson (Loomis UK)

Vice-Chairman: Gareth Skinner (G4S Cash Solutions UK)

Export Council

Chairman: Carl Gibbard (Concept Smoke Screen)

Vice-Chairman: Will Turner (Eaton Electrical Products)

Information Destruction

Chairman: Don Robins (PW Commercial Co T/A Printwaste)

Vice-Chairman: Simon Franklin (Shred Station)

Lone Worker

Chairman: Will Murray (Guardian24)

Vice-Chairman: Craig Swallow (SoloProtect)

Security Equipment Manufacturers

Chairman: Tony Allen (CSL)

Vice-Chairman: Darren Owens (Honeywell Security UK)

Security Guarding

Chairman: Tony Cockcroft (Independent Contractor Security)

Vice-Chairman: Dirk Wilson (former chairman of the BSIA’s Police and Public Services Section)

Security Systems

Chairman: Martin Harvey (ADT Fire and Security)

Vice-Chairman: Martin Watson (Mitie Security)

Specialist Services

Chairman: Stephen Halpin (Four Security Consultants)

Training Providers

Chairman: Bob Betts (Elite Academy of Security Training)

Vacant Property Protection

Chairman: Gideon Reichental (Clearway Environmental Services UK)

Vice-Chairman: Sebastian MacKenzie-Wilson (Vigilance Properties)

Video Surveillance Systems (CCTV)

Chairman: Jacques Lombard (Syntinex)

Vice-Chairman: Simon Adcock (ATEC Fire and Security)

About the Author
Brian Sims BA (Hons) Hon FSyI, Editor, Risk UK (Pro-Activ Publications) Beginning his career in professional journalism at The Builder Group in March 1992, Brian was appointed Editor of Security Management Today in November 2000 having spent eight years in engineering journalism across two titles: Building Services Journal and Light & Lighting. In 2005, Brian received the BSIA Chairman’s Award for Promoting The Security Industry and, a year later, the Skills for Security Special Award for an Outstanding Contribution to the Security Business Sector. In 2008, Brian was The Security Institute’s nomination for the Association of Security Consultants’ highly prestigious Imbert Prize and, in 2013, was a nominated finalist for the Institute's George van Schalkwyk Award. An Honorary Fellow of The Security Institute, Brian serves as a Judge for the BSIA’s Security Personnel of the Year Awards and the Securitas Good Customer Award. Between 2008 and 2014, Brian pioneered the use of digital media across the security sector, including webinars and Audio Shows. Brian’s actively involved in 50-plus security groups on LinkedIn and hosts the popular Risk UK Twitter site. Brian is a frequent speaker on the conference circuit. He has organised and chaired conference programmes for both IFSEC International and ASIS International and has been published in the national media. Brian was appointed Editor of Risk UK at Pro-Activ Publications in July 2014 and as Editor of The Paper (Pro-Activ Publications' dedicated business newspaper for security professionals) in September 2015. Brian was appointed Editor of Risk Xtra at Pro-Activ Publications in May 2018.

Related Posts