Ruth Evans joins Serious Fraud Office Management Board in non-executive director role

Ruth Evans: new non-executive director role at the SFO

Ruth Evans: new non-executive director role at the SFO

The Serious Fraud Office (SFO) has appointed Ruth Evans to join its Management Board in the role of non-executive director. Evans was appointed following an open competition and joins existing non-executive directors Simon Duckworth OBE DL and Tony Osbaldiston.

Ruth Evans has served as chairman and deputy chairman of four regulatory Boards and two independent inquiries. In addition, Evans has been a non-executive director of four financial services businesses, led three charities (namely War on Want, MIND and Maternity Alliance) and served as CEO and accounting officer of the National Consumer Council for seven years.

Today, Evans is the chairman of ATVOD (the regulator of television on demand), non-executive commissioner of the Independent Police Complaints Commission, non-executive director and chairman of the Rem Co at the CPP Group plc and founding Trustee of Alacrity Entrepreneurship Foundation, a graduate scheme established to build successful technology companies.

Having overseen Evans’ appointment, David Green CB QC – director of the SFO – stated: “Ruth is a champion of the public and consumer interest with wide experience across the public, regulatory and commercial sectors. I’m delighted to welcome her to the SFO.”

On her new role, Ruth Evans enthused: “I’m very pleased to be joining the SFO, and particularly now at a time of renewed vigour and sense of purpose at the organisation. I look forward to playing a part in the SFO’s continued improvement and contributing to enhanced governance, efficiency and engagement.”

Ruth Evans took up her role at the SFO with effect from 26 January 2015.

Evans’ previous roles have included serving as the first chairman of the Bar Standards Board, deputy chairman of the Ofcom Consumer Panel and as chairman of the General Medical Council’s Standards Committee.

Evans chaired the Brompton & Harefield Inquiries into Baby Deaths and the Independent Inquiry into Drug Testing at Work.

Non-executive directors at the SFO

As stated, the SFO’s other non-executive directors are Simon Duckworth OBE DL and Tony Osbaldiston.

Duckworth is also a member of the City of London’s Police Committee, the police governing body for the City of London Police, currently serving as both its deputy chairman and chairman of the City’s Economic Crime Board.

The Serious Fraud Office is an independent UK Government department operating under the superintendence of the Attorney General

The Serious Fraud Office is an independent UK Government department operating under the superintendence of the Attorney General

Duckworth sits on both the Home Office’s National Crime Agency Programme Board and its Economic Crime Co-ordination Board.

Tony Osbaldiston has significant expertise as a senior finance director and brings operational, international and City knowledge to the SFO. He has served on the Boards of a wide variety of public limited companies – among them FirstGroup plc, Raymarine plc, the BSS Group plc and Synstar International plc – and is currently non-executive chairman of the Encon Group.

*The Serious Fraud Office is an independent Government department responsible for investigating and prosecuting serious and complex fraud, bribery and corruption. Director David Green CB QC exercises powers under the superintendence of the Attorney General. These powers are derived from the Criminal Justice Act 1987

About the Author
Brian Sims BA (Hons) Hon FSyI, Editor, Risk UK (Pro-Activ Publications) Beginning his career in professional journalism at The Builder Group in March 1992, Brian was appointed Editor of Security Management Today in November 2000 having spent eight years in engineering journalism across two titles: Building Services Journal and Light & Lighting. In 2005, Brian received the BSIA Chairman’s Award for Promoting The Security Industry and, a year later, the Skills for Security Special Award for an Outstanding Contribution to the Security Business Sector. In 2008, Brian was The Security Institute’s nomination for the Association of Security Consultants’ highly prestigious Imbert Prize and, in 2013, was a nominated finalist for the Institute's George van Schalkwyk Award. An Honorary Fellow of The Security Institute, Brian serves as a Judge for the BSIA’s Security Personnel of the Year Awards and the Securitas Good Customer Award. Between 2008 and 2014, Brian pioneered the use of digital media across the security sector, including webinars and Audio Shows. Brian’s actively involved in 50-plus security groups on LinkedIn and hosts the popular Risk UK Twitter site. Brian is a frequent speaker on the conference circuit. He has organised and chaired conference programmes for both IFSEC International and ASIS International and has been published in the national media. Brian was appointed Editor of Risk UK at Pro-Activ Publications in July 2014 and as Editor of The Paper (Pro-Activ Publications' dedicated business newspaper for security professionals) in September 2015. Brian was appointed Editor of Risk Xtra at Pro-Activ Publications in May 2018.

Related Posts