Home News ONVIF hosts annual membership meeting and announces 2016 award winners

ONVIF hosts annual membership meeting and announces 2016 award winners

by Brian Sims

ONVIF, the leading global standardisation initiative for IP-based physical security products, hosted its annual membership meeting on Tuesday 25 October, duly updating members on accomplishments made across 2016 and the outlook for the year ahead.

ONVIF member companies heard detailed presentations on the final release of Profile Q in 2016 and the ongoing development of Profile T for video, in addition to learning about the growing prevalence of ONVIF’s more than 7,000 conformant product models present in bid and specification processes for projects around the world.

In the webinar’s opening remarks, ONVIF Steering Committee chairman Per Björkdahl highlighted collective achievements over the past 12 months, including the organisation’s work with the International Electrotechnical Commission on its IEC 62676-2-3 standard for network video clients and video transmission devices.

Björkdahl cited the formation of the ONVIF Use Case Working Group as a “significant step forward” in increasing opportunities for member input.

2016 ONVIF Awards

Further, Björkdahl announced the recipients of the 2016 ONVIF Awards, which recognise individuals and companies who have made significant contributions to the industry and ONVIF. The 2016 ONVIF Award winners are Sriram Bhetanabottla of Canon, Robert Haraldsson (Axis Communications) and Hiroyuki Sano from Sony.

“Sriram, Robert and Hiroyuki have all made significant contributions to the development of our Device Test Tool, Device Test Specification and Profile Q, our newest profile for improved out-of-the-box functionality,” enthused Björkdahl. “As a member-driven organisation, it’s vitally important to recognise members who contribute many hours of dedicated service to the work of ONVIF.”

Hans Busch of Bosch, chairman of the ONVIF Technical Committee, spoke to members about the specification development roadmap and its alignment to the standardisation activities within the IEC TC 79 Working Groups for video surveillance and physical access control standards.

Technical Services Committee chairman Andreas Schneider of Sony gave an overview work conducted on profiles, test tools, the conformance process and Developers’ Plugfests, and also provided additional information on the development of future Profiles.

For his part, ONVIF Communications chairman Jonathan Lewit of Pelco by Schneider Electric offered a recap of ONVIF’s internal and external communications across the year to date.

Committee Elections

The results of ONVIF’s annual Committee Elections were announced by Stan Moyer, the movement’s executive director. Re-elected to the ONVIF Steering Committee are Mayur Salgar (Honeywell) and Stuart Rawling (Pelco by Schneider Electric). For the Technical Committee, Honeywell’s Ramesh Subbaiah, Pelco by Schneider Electric’s Steve Wolf and Panasonic’s Hasan Ozdemir are ALL re-elected, while Hanwha Techwin’s Sungbong Cho joins the Technical Committee as a new member.

Bob Dolan (Anixter) and Andrew Downs (Pelco by Schneider Electric) have been re-elected to the Technical Services Committee, and are now joined by new member Giri Guntipalli from Honeywell.

Tim Shen of Dahua joins ONVIF’s Communication Committee as a new member, while Mike Mao of Honeywell and Jonathan Lewit (Pelco by Schneider Electric) are re-elected to this group.

Founded back in 2008, ONVIF now consists of nearly 500 member companies in six continents and more than 7,000 Profile conformant products. With Profile S for streaming video, Profile G for recording and storage, Profile C for physical access control, Profile Q for improved out-of-the-box functionality and the Release Candidate Profile A for access control configuration, ONVIF continues to work with its members on expanding the number of IP interoperability solutions ONVIF-conformant products can provide for practising end users.

You may also like