New Deputy Chairman and Board members appointed to British Transport Police Authority

The body that oversees the specialist rail policing force in Britain has been further strengthened by the appointment of a new deputy chairman and five new Board members, the Department for Transport has announced.

Mark Phillips, who has been a Board member of the British Transport Police Authority (BTPA) since 2013, has been appointed as the organisation’s new deputy chairman. He’s also currently CEO at the Rail Safety and Standards Board and has previously served at Network Rail as regional director for Anglia and as deputy managing director for the Greater Anglia franchise.

In addition, experienced businessman William Gallagher, chartered accountant Shrinivas Honap, strategist Jeremy Mayhew, retired chief constable Martin Richards and Human Resources expert Beverley Shears have been appointed as new members of the BTPA Board.

Commenting on the appointments, Transport Secretary Chris Grayling said: “We’re delivering the biggest rail modernisation programme for more than a century to improve services and provide passengers with faster and more comfortable trains. Going forward, the British Transport Police will play a major role in delivering our vision for a growing and sustainable railway. I’m confident the newly-refreshed team at the BTPA will provide the strategic direction the force needs in order to offer even better value to the rail industry and the taxpayer while fighting crime, reducing disruption and keeping the network safe for passengers and rail staff alike.”

Esther McVey, chairman of the BTPA, added: “I’m delighted to welcome the new Board members to the BTPA. Each of them brings their own area of specific and essential expertise, as well as fresh insight, to what is an established Authority. I look forward to working with them at this busy and exciting time for the Authority, when the rail sector is not only growing, but also facing a range of new and developing policing pressures.”

The new deputy chairman took up his role just prior to Christmas, while the new Board members assumed their roles earlier this month.

Andrew Figgures retired as CEO of the BTPA at the end of December after nearly seven years in the role following his 41-year career in the Army. Figgures handed the reins to Charlotte Vitty, the organisation’s deputy CEO and treasurer, who’s presently acting as interim CEO while the Authority recruits a permanent replacement.

About the Author
Brian Sims BA (Hons) Hon FSyI, Editor, Risk UK (Pro-Activ Publications) Beginning his career in professional journalism at The Builder Group in March 1992, Brian was appointed Editor of Security Management Today in November 2000 having spent eight years in engineering journalism across two titles: Building Services Journal and Light & Lighting. In 2005, Brian received the BSIA Chairman’s Award for Promoting The Security Industry and, a year later, the Skills for Security Special Award for an Outstanding Contribution to the Security Business Sector. In 2008, Brian was The Security Institute’s nomination for the Association of Security Consultants’ highly prestigious Imbert Prize and, in 2013, was a nominated finalist for the Institute's George van Schalkwyk Award. An Honorary Fellow of The Security Institute, Brian serves as a Judge for the BSIA’s Security Personnel of the Year Awards and the Securitas Good Customer Award. Between 2008 and 2014, Brian pioneered the use of digital media across the security sector, including webinars and Audio Shows. Brian’s actively involved in 50-plus security groups on LinkedIn and hosts the popular Risk UK Twitter site. Brian is a frequent speaker on the conference circuit. He has organised and chaired conference programmes for both IFSEC International and ASIS International and has been published in the national media. Brian was appointed Editor of Risk UK at Pro-Activ Publications in July 2014 and as Editor of The Paper (Pro-Activ Publications' dedicated business newspaper for security professionals) in September 2015. Brian was appointed Editor of Risk Xtra at Pro-Activ Publications in May 2018.

Related Posts