Home Guarding National finalists for 2019 edition of British Security Awards unveiled by BSIA

National finalists for 2019 edition of British Security Awards unveiled by BSIA

by Brian Sims

The British Security Industry Association (BSIA) has announced the full list of national finalists for the 2019 edition of the Trade Association’s ever-popular British Security Awards, with the ceremony to be held on Wednesday 10 July at the Marriott Hotel on London’s Grosvenor Square.

The British Security Awards celebrate excellence in security both regionally and nationally, focusing as they do on outstanding acts of bravery, customer service, teamwork, innovation and dedication to the industry while duly recognising those individuals and teams who’ve gone above and beyond the call of duty in their everyday work.

The national finalists in the security personnel-focused categories are as follows:

Best Newcomer

David Dayle (SecuriGroup), Lauren Summers (VSG), Georgina Davis (G4S) and Matthew Bray (Westgrove Group)

Best Team

Walsall Housing Group Security Team (MAN Commercial Protection), Hammerson Security Team (Midlands) (VSG), JLL Security Team (VSG), York Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust Security Team (OCS Group), Eurostar Security Team (Mitie), Bow Street Mall Security Team (Robinson Services), Brighthouse Security Team (MAN Commercial Protection), Hammerson Shopping Centre Security Team (Scotland) (VSG), Brighton & Hove BCRP Security Team (Mitie) and the North Bristol NHS Trust Southmead Hospital Security Team (OCS Group)

Best Use of Technology

Vijay Odedra (Westgrove Group) and Jim Mills (for Project Vision) (G4S)

Outstanding Act

Gavin Jones, Matthew Lamb and John Wallbank (Westgrove Group), Steven Travis (Westgrove Group), Steven Penman (VSG), Archie Thomson (SecuriGroup), Gina Thomson (SecuriGroup), Mohammed Ramzan (Amulet), David Rutwaza (G4S), Omar Secka (SecuriGroup), Andrew Salmon, Lee Godfrey and Karl Smith (VSG), Josh Woolhouse (OCS Group) and the Sainsbury’s Security Team (Mitie)

Service to the Customer

Hinray Lopez (VSG), Eric Mainu Adaboh (VSG), Steve Allen (Westgrove Group), Paul Ogden (Westgrove Group), Harry Potter (VSG), Darren Pounder (VSG) and Vinnie Barrett (SGS)

Finalists in the remaining British Security Awards categories are as follows:

Apprentice of the Year

Lee Scobbie (Johnson Controls), Sam Howard (EFT Systems) and Huram Masood (JM Security Systems)

SME of the Year

Vigilance, CSL Group and Concept Smokescreen

Business of the Year

Gallagher Security, SecuriGroup and Securitas UK

National Partnership of the Year

Volunteer Police Cadets and The Security Institute, EnQuest Shetland Islands and Wilson James and the Somerset Council Laptop Programme in partnership with Concept Management Consulting

International Partnership of the Year

Various Malaysian Projects (GDSS Systems), Sentinel Connect (Concept Smokescreen) and Elite Guard (Elite Academy)

Innovative Security Project of the Year

Selecta DNA (Selectamark Security Systems), ID Pro (SoloProtect) and the Formula 1 Project (Securitas UK)

Contribution to the Industry

Jake Wheelans (Border Safeguard), Andy Gilmore (AAI) and Lawrence Gregory (Saturn Security Systems)

Bravery Award

Henry Prince (VSG), Chris Garner, Max Goodwin and Andy Brown (Loomis), Atiquer Rahman (G4S) and Surrendra Chongbang (Loomis)

Mike Reddington

Mike Reddington

The British Security Awards 2019 will be hosted and presented by journalist and broadcaster Jane Moore, with the Bravery Award presented by Assistant Chief Constable Sarah Boycott of the West Midlands Police.

There will also be a Bravery Award presented to a member of the public and a special Chairman’s Award to be presented by current incumbent Simon Banks of the CSL Group.

Mike Reddington, CEO of the BSIA, said: “The judging of all the exceptional entries that we received was no easy task given the level of nominations and the incredible quality of performance and innovation on display. The finalists in the 2019 edition of the British Security Awards should be immensely proud of their achievements. We wish them the best of luck on the national stage.”

*Tickets for the event are now available and can be purchased by contacting the events team on comms@bsia.co.uk

**The British Security Awards are sponsored by Camberford Underwriting, the National Security Inspectorate, Securitas UK, TrackTik, Innovise, SaferCash, Intersec and IFSEC International

You may also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More