Industry champions Paul Tennent and Tony Maskens win coveted FSA Awards for 2017

Paul Tennent receives the 2017 Peter Greenwood Award from Deborah Ward-Johnstone, Group event director at Revolution Events

Paul Tennent receives the 2017 Peter Greenwood Award from Deborah Ward-Johnstone, Group event director at Revolution Events

Two industry leaders – namely Paul Tennent and Tony Maskens – have been recognised by the Fire & Security Association (FSA) at the IFSEC Security and Fire Excellence Awards 2017 for their outstanding contributions to their respective industry sectors.

Paul Tennent – co-founder of Tavcom Training and Group sales director at the Linx International Group – scooped the FSA’s 2017 Peter Greenwood Security Award. Tennent has been recognised for his commitment to raising standards (by dint of diligent work with the CCTV User Group and National Occupational Standards, among others) and delivering high quality training. Tennent is an internationally-respected professional, with Tavcom Training boasting major clients in countries including Dubai.

Recently, Tennent has been one of the principal architects behind the creation of the professional register for Certified Technical Security Professionals that launched back in early September.

Commenting on the award, Tennent told Risk UK: “Well-trained and dedicated security professionals are the lifeblood of our industry. It’s with a sense of great responsibility that we provide access to the latest knowledge and skills needed for those working in the professional technical security sector. I’m immensely proud that Tavcom Training is recognised as the world’s leading provider of BTEC-accredited security systems training courses. I receive this award on behalf of my entire team.”

The Peter Greenwood Security Award recognises individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the security systems industry. It’s the longest-established individual award in the security profession and has been in existence since Peter Greenwood’s untimely death in January 1995.

Greenwood was a former head of the ECA’s Security Group and involved with its Fire Group, and was also a founder member of the Security Industry Lead Body.

Ian Marsh Fire Award 2017

Tony Maskens, who served as BAFE’s technical schemes manager until his retirement in 2016, has won the FSA’s Ian Marsh Fire Award for 2017. Maskens picked up the award for his efforts to raise industry standards, enhance quality control schemes and promote third party certification to companies and end users.

The Ian Marsh Fire Award recognises individuals who demonstrate enthusiasm and selfless concern for the fire and emergency systems industry. The award was renamed in honour of Ian Marsh in 2013, the year after he died from illness. Marsh made a major contribution to the industry, having an active involvement with both British Standards and the Wiring Regulations, as well as enjoying a pivotal role in the creation of certification body ELECSA.

Tony Maskens picks up the Ian Marsh Fire Award

Tony Maskens picks up the Ian Marsh Fire Award

Steve Martin, head of the FSA and the ECA’s director of technical, commented: “Many congratulations from the FSA to both Paul Tennent and Tony Maskens on winning these awards. With the FSA celebrating its 10th Anniversary this year, we’re delighted to have two such fantastic ambassadors being recognised.”

The FSA’s awards are supported by industry bodies including the National Security Inspectorate (NSI), the Security Systems and Alarms Inspection Board (SSAIB), the Fire Protection Association and British Approvals for Fire Equipment (BAFE). Representatives from the FSA, the ECA, SELECT, the NSI and the SSAIB were among the Judges assessing the nominations for the two individual awards.

The FSA consists of member-firms of the ECA, the leading electrotechnical and engineering services trade body, as well as the aforementioned Scottish electrical trade body SELECT.

Organised by UBM in conjunction with Revolution Events, the IFSEC Security and Fire Excellence Awards 2017 ceremony was held on Wednesday 22 November and attended by industry leaders including business owners and clients.

About the Author
Brian Sims BA (Hons) Hon FSyI, Editor, Risk UK (Pro-Activ Publications) Beginning his career in professional journalism at The Builder Group in March 1992, Brian was appointed Editor of Security Management Today in November 2000 having spent eight years in engineering journalism across two titles: Building Services Journal and Light & Lighting. In 2005, Brian received the BSIA Chairman’s Award for Promoting The Security Industry and, a year later, the Skills for Security Special Award for an Outstanding Contribution to the Security Business Sector. In 2008, Brian was The Security Institute’s nomination for the Association of Security Consultants’ highly prestigious Imbert Prize and, in 2013, was a nominated finalist for the Institute's George van Schalkwyk Award. An Honorary Fellow of The Security Institute, Brian serves as a Judge for the BSIA’s Security Personnel of the Year Awards and the Securitas Good Customer Award. Between 2008 and 2014, Brian pioneered the use of digital media across the security sector, including webinars and Audio Shows. Brian’s actively involved in 50-plus security groups on LinkedIn and hosts the popular Risk UK Twitter site. Brian is a frequent speaker on the conference circuit. He has organised and chaired conference programmes for both IFSEC International and ASIS International and has been published in the national media. Brian was appointed Editor of Risk UK at Pro-Activ Publications in July 2014 and as Editor of The Paper (Pro-Activ Publications' dedicated business newspaper for security professionals) in September 2015. Brian was appointed Editor of Risk Xtra at Pro-Activ Publications in May 2018.

Related Posts