Finalists announced for inaugural Tackling Economic Crime Awards

The finalists in the inaugural Tackling Economic Crime Awards (TECAs) have been announced. Recognising the valuable contribution in tackling all areas of economic crime, the TECAs showcase the very best companies, individuals and initiatives that the sector has to offer and acknowledges their considerable achievements.

Professor Martin Gill CSyP FSyI, founder of the TECAs, said:  “The response we’ve received to the first-ever TECAs has been outstanding. This is a sector-wide initiative designed to create a level playing field. The Judges are nominated by the industry associations and agree to mark to an ethics policy. That’s why winning is so valued.”

The 2019 finalists are as follows:

Outstanding Manager/Director

*Mike Brown (Direct Line Group)

*Gemma Pezzack (V12 Retail Finance)

*Denis Rice (Royal Mail)

*Simon York (Fraud Investigation Service, HMRC)

Outstanding Team

*Barclays Financial Intelligence Unit

*Dedicated Card and Payment Crime Unit (DCPCU)

*Direct Line Group Counter Fraud Intelligence Team

*National Trading Standards Scams Team

*North East Regional Asset Recovery Team

*Operation Gauntlet (North Yorkshire County Council Trading Standards)

*Profession Team, Government Counter Fraud Profession, Counter Fraud Centre of Expertise

*Veritau Limited

*West Yorkshire Financial Exploitation and Abuse Team

Outstanding Consultant

*Graydon Business Intelligence Unit Company (Graydon UK)

*PwC Financial Crime Team

*Stuart Underwood (Nationwide Building Society)

Outstanding Customer Service Initiative

*Karen McNeil (Department for Work and Pensions, Counter Fraud, Compliance and Debt)

*Pop-Up Solicitors/Umbrella Firms (DWF Law LLP)

*Cyber and Economic Crime Awareness Service (Greater Manchester Police)

*Julian Watts (Bank Signature Forgery Campaign – Office of the Police and Crime Commissioner for Thames Valley)

*London Digital Security Centre (Police Digital Security Centre)

Outstanding Training Initiative

*City of London Police Economic Crime Academy

*HMRC Criminal Justice Academy

*Stephanie Ogunjimi (Lloyds Banking Group)

*Interview Advisers (Serious Fraud Office)

*James Jenkin (Serious Fraud Office)

*Veritau Limited

Outstanding New Product

*Graydon Detect (Graydon UK)

*Halo (Insafe International Limited)

*Bank Signature Forgery Campaign (Office of the Police and Crime Commissioner for Thames Valley)

*The Paybase Risk Suite (Paybase)

Outstanding Partnership

*Bank Signature Forgery Campaign and All-Party Parliamentary Group on Fair Business Banking

*Charity Commission for England and Wales and the Fraud Advisory Panel

*Hertfordshire Shared Anti-Fraud Service

*Insurace Fraud Prevention Partnership – Hastings Direct and BAE Systems

*Rehabilitation Validation Project – Aviva and DWF Law LLP

*Midlands Fraud Forum

*National Fraud Initiative – Synectics Solutions and QBE

*Nationwide Branch and Support Team

*Statutory Accounting and Corporate Structure Fraud Project Team – Companies House, Cabinet Office and HMRC

Outstanding Investigator

*Ryan Andrews (HMRC)

*Robert Byrne (Serious Fraud Office)

*Steven Carter (South East Regional Organised Crime Unit)

*DC Chris Collins (Metropolitan Police Service)

*Angela Harvey, Chris Hargreaves, Ian Terry and Richard Grant (West Yorkshire Police)

*DC Tania Harnor (ERSOU, Cybercrime)

*Ben Hobbs (City of London Police DCPCU)

*DC Adele Shallcross (Avon & Somerset Constabulary)

*Surrey Police and South East Regional Organised Crime Unit (Cyber)

*Kelly Williams (Barclays Bank)

Outstanding Young Professional

*Chelsea Baron (Co-op Insurance)

*Sean Flynn (City of London Police DCPCU)

*Dianne Hunt (West Mercia Police)

*Dave Laramy (Capital One UK)

*Jessica Lightowler (British Council)

*Chris Phillips (V12 Retail Finance Limited)

*Susan Webb (PwC)

*Joshua Young (Yorkshire Building Society)

Outstanding Female Professional

*Linda Avan (Senior Intelligence Investigator, DWF Law LLP)

*Claire Jenkins FCCA (Integrity and Enforcement Unit, Companies House)

*Sarah Keeling (StoneTurn)

*Debra Linge (Lloyds Banking Group)

*Jo Marshall (Nationwide Building Society)

*DC Tara Owens (Metropolitan Police Service)

*Helen Seed (Her Majesty’s Revenue and Customs)

*Narinder Shergill (Serious Fraud Office)

*Rachael Tiffen (Cifas)

*Dr Justine Walker (UK Finance)

Outstanding Male Professional

*Russell Chinn (City of London Police DCPCU)

*James Jenkin (Serious Fraud Office)

Outstanding Prevention Initiative

*The ALP Team for Combating OAP Fraud (The WoS Group)

*The Barclays Team for its Approach to Human Trafficking

*Tony Blake and the Real Consequences Training Video (UK Finance)

*James Freedman and Love Variety

*HMRC Anti-Money Laundering Supervision for the Estate Agency Businesses Week of Action

*Merseyside Police

*Tony Murray (City of London Police)

*Samantha Street (Grant Thornton UK LLP) for the Investment Scams Initiative

*Santander UK

*Scotland Fraud Focus (DWF Law LLP)

Lifetime Achievement Award

*The winner in this category will be revealed on the day

All winners will be announced at a prestigious black tie awards ceremony to be held on Monday 9 December at the Sheraton Grand Hotel on London’s Park Lane. Ticket holders will have the opportunity to network with their peers during a drinks reception, enjoy a sumptuous three-course gala dinner with colleagues and, following on from the award winner announcements, celebrate with the very best of the profession. It’s the ultimate networking opportunity of the year.

Altia-ABM is the headline sponsor in 2019, while Cifas is sponsoring the menu/programme.

About the Author
Brian Sims BA (Hons) Hon FSyI, Editor, Risk UK (Pro-Activ Publications) Beginning his career in professional journalism at The Builder Group in March 1992, Brian was appointed Editor of Security Management Today in November 2000 having spent eight years in engineering journalism across two titles: Building Services Journal and Light & Lighting. In 2005, Brian received the BSIA Chairman’s Award for Promoting The Security Industry and, a year later, the Skills for Security Special Award for an Outstanding Contribution to the Security Business Sector. In 2008, Brian was The Security Institute’s nomination for the Association of Security Consultants’ highly prestigious Imbert Prize and, in 2013, was a nominated finalist for the Institute's George van Schalkwyk Award. An Honorary Fellow of The Security Institute, Brian serves as a Judge for the BSIA’s Security Personnel of the Year Awards and the Securitas Good Customer Award. Between 2008 and 2014, Brian pioneered the use of digital media across the security sector, including webinars and Audio Shows. Brian’s actively involved in 50-plus security groups on LinkedIn and hosts the popular Risk UK Twitter site. Brian is a frequent speaker on the conference circuit. He has organised and chaired conference programmes for both IFSEC International and ASIS International and has been published in the national media. Brian was appointed Editor of Risk UK at Pro-Activ Publications in July 2014 and as Editor of The Paper (Pro-Activ Publications' dedicated business newspaper for security professionals) in September 2015. Brian was appointed Editor of Risk Xtra at Pro-Activ Publications in May 2018.

Related Posts