Home News BAFE, FPA, NSI and SSAIB move to support Fire and Security Association Awards

BAFE, FPA, NSI and SSAIB move to support Fire and Security Association Awards

by Brian Sims

A series of leading bodies from across the fire, emergency and security sectors are now supporting this year’s Fire and Security Association (FSA) Awards, which are currently open to nominations from the entire industry. In addition to leading electrotechnical Trade Associations SELECT and the Electrical Contractors’ Association, who are partnering on the FSA Awards, the industry bodies now in full support of these highly prestigious annual honours are British Approvals for Fire Equipment (BAFE), the Fire Protection Association, the National Security Inspectorate and the Security Systems and Alarms Inspection Board.

There are two FSA Awards – the Peter Greenwood Security Award and the Ian Marsh Fire Award. A panel of independent judges from the FSA’s partners and supporters will determine the winning duo.

The Peter Greenwood Security Award recognises individuals who’ve made an outstanding contribution to the security systems industry. It’s the longest-established individual award in the security profession and has been in existence since Peter Greenwood’s untimely death back in January 1995.

Greenwood was a former head of the ECA’s Security Group and also involved with its Fire Group. In addition, Greenwood was a founder member of the Security Industry Lead Body.

Last year’s winner was Andy Gilmore of AAI Security for 25 years’ of upholding technical standards.

The Ian Marsh Fire Award recognises individuals who demonstrate enthusiasm and selfless concern for the fire and emergency systems industry. The accolade was renamed in honour of Ian Marsh in 2013, the year after he died from illness.

Marsh made a major contribution to the industry, including through an active involvement with both British Standards and the Wiring Regulations, as well as having a pivotal role in the creation of certification body ELECSA.

Last year’s winner was Chris Watts of Wavelength Associates, notably for his commitment to emergency lighting.

Steve Martin, head of the FSA, explained to Risk UK: “The FSA Awards are moving from strength to strength with the entire industry now supporting both the Peter Greenwood Security Award and the Ian Marsh Fire Award. With the FSA celebrating its 10th Anniversary this year, we look forward to honouring another two industry champions who’ve changed the sector for the better.”

BAFE’s CEO Stephen Adams added: “BAFE is pleased to support the FSA Awards. As the electrical and fire protection industries grow closer, it’s now more vital than ever before that companies are third party certified to offer evidence of their competency.”

*The deadline for FSA Awards nominations in 2017 is Friday 15 September at 5.00 pm. For more details, or to nominate an individual for either award, please access: http://www.eca.co.uk/fsaawards

You may also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More