AUCSO bestows prestigious awards and Fellowships at 2015 Annual Conference

The Association of University Chief Security Officers is the leading authority for security professionals working in Higher and Further Education in the UK and Europe

The Association of University Chief Security Officers is the leading authority for security professionals working in Higher and Further Education in the UK and Europe

The highlight of the recent 2015 Association of University Chief Security Officers (AUCSO) Conference Dinner held at the UK Space Centre was the presentation of the organisation’s annual awards and two new Fellowships. 

AUCSO is the leading authority for security professionals working in Higher and Further Education in the UK and Europe. The Association provides a forum for its members to exchange knowledge, information and Best Practice relating to security management.

Members are linked through geographic regions, each of which has its own representative who sits on the Association’s Executive Committee.

There were three main awards presented by AUCSO’s new chairman Mark Sutton. They were bestowed as follows:

*2014 Security Officer of the Year Award (Sponsored by Mitie TSM)

This award was won by Dave Stewart, team leader at Aston University, for an “outstanding” piece of security work. Without thought for his own personal safety, Dave stepped outside the normal expectations of his role and pursued and detained an individual off campus who had just seriously assaulted a female member of staff.

*2014 Security Team of the Year Award (Sponsored by Traka – Assa Abloy)

Members of the Charlie Team at the University of Surrey were commended for “continued leadership, initiative and determination” to reduce crime and make the university a safer place for students, staff and visitors alike.

*2014 Security Initiative of the Year Award (Sponsored by Bosch Security Systems)

The 2014 award goes to Garry Williams – training and quality manager for Coventry University’s Protection Service – for his “continuous improvement, training and development” of the university’s protection officers.

AUCSO Fellowships are awarded in recognition of an “outstanding, sustained and influential contribution” in advancing the objectives and aspirations of the Association. This year, the AUCSO Executive Committee has recognised two distinguished members:

Fellowship: David Owen

David Owen, AUCSO’s Secretary, has been recognised for over 20 years’ involvement and service with the organisation, firstly as a member and a conference host and then, for the last ten years, as voluntary AUCSO Secretary.

Fellowship: Ray Wheatley

Ireland Executive Member Ray Wheatley gains a Fellowship for more than 20 years’ service as a member, and in particular for ten years as a member of the Executive Committee representing Ireland and Europe and for his role as international liaison member. Wheatley has also hosted two conferences in Dublin.

*AUCSO would also like to acknowledge the sponsorship support from Critical Arc and Axis Communications UK

Highlights of the AUCSO Annual Conference

The AUCSO 2015 Annual Conference held at Loughborough University attracted around 100 delegates. Sessions were wide ranging and included a focus on subjects such as threat management in Zurich, implementation of the SafeZone App, training opportunities, updates on ‘Prevent’, tips on procuring security contracts, use of CCTV at the National University of Singapore, the National Crime Agency and an update from Tony Porter, the UK Surveillance Camera Commissioner.

Alongside the Annual Conference ran an exhibition of security products with some new suppliers taking part in addition to existing sponsors.

About the Author
Brian Sims BA (Hons) Hon FSyI, Editor, Risk UK (Pro-Activ Publications) Beginning his career in professional journalism at The Builder Group in March 1992, Brian was appointed Editor of Security Management Today in November 2000 having spent eight years in engineering journalism across two titles: Building Services Journal and Light & Lighting. In 2005, Brian received the BSIA Chairman’s Award for Promoting The Security Industry and, a year later, the Skills for Security Special Award for an Outstanding Contribution to the Security Business Sector. In 2008, Brian was The Security Institute’s nomination for the Association of Security Consultants’ highly prestigious Imbert Prize and, in 2013, was a nominated finalist for the Institute's George van Schalkwyk Award. An Honorary Fellow of The Security Institute, Brian serves as a Judge for the BSIA’s Security Personnel of the Year Awards and the Securitas Good Customer Award. Between 2008 and 2014, Brian pioneered the use of digital media across the security sector, including webinars and Audio Shows. Brian’s actively involved in 50-plus security groups on LinkedIn and hosts the popular Risk UK Twitter site. Brian is a frequent speaker on the conference circuit. He has organised and chaired conference programmes for both IFSEC International and ASIS International and has been published in the national media. Brian was appointed Editor of Risk UK at Pro-Activ Publications in July 2014 and as Editor of The Paper (Pro-Activ Publications' dedicated business newspaper for security professionals) in September 2015. Brian was appointed Editor of Risk Xtra at Pro-Activ Publications in May 2018.

Related Posts