Home News Finalists announced for 2017 UK Outstanding Security Performance Awards

Finalists announced for 2017 UK Outstanding Security Performance Awards

by Brian Sims

Professor Martin Gill CSyP, director of Perpetuity Research, has now unveiled the finalists for the inaugural UK edition of the Outstanding Security Performance Awards (OSPAs), which are specifically designed to recognise and reward the achievements of both companies and individuals across the security sector.

The UK OSPAs – for which Risk UK is an Official Media Partner – are both independent and inclusive, providing an opportunity for outstanding performers, whether buyers or suppliers, to be recognised and their success stories celebrated.

The criteria for these awards are based on extensive research around key factors that contribute to and characterise outstanding performance, with the OSPAs themselves established in collaboration with security associations and groups across many countries. In the UK, supporting organisations include ASIS UK, The Security Institute, The Security Commonwealth, the Security Industry Authority and Skills for Security.

By researching and standardising the award categories and criteria, the OSPAs scheme provides an opportunity for countries to run their own evidence-based OSPAs schemes while at the same time maintaining an ability to compete on an international level via the ‘World OSPAs’.

UK OSPAs Finalists for 2017

Outstanding In-House Security Manager (supported by ASIS UK, sponsored by Wilson James)

*David Meech (Aspers Group)

*Clint Reid (Marks and Spencer)

*John Reading (Jaguar Land Rover)

Outstanding In-House Security Team (sponsored by Procius)

*GAP Loss Prevention and Corporate Security Team

*William Hill Retail Security Department

*Croma Vigilant – Glasgow Fort Security Team

*Incentive FM Team at St Stephen’s

*York Hospital Security Team

*DVLA Cyber Security Services Team

*The London Edition Security Team

Outstanding Contract Security Company

*CIS Security

*Wilson James

*Incentive Facilities Management (Crystal Peaks)


*Mitie Total Security Management

*CTR Secure Services

*Ultimate Security Services

*Axis Security

*Andrews International

Outstanding Security Consultant

*Praemunitus Police Capcity Building Team (Somaliland)

*Bob Martin

*Ian Johnson Associates

Outstanding Customer Service Initiative

*CIS Security Customer Experience: ‘Safe, Happy Informed and Listened To’

*Constant Security Services: High Value Metal Protection Initiative

*VSG: The Mall, Blackburn

*CSL Group

 Outstanding Security Training Initiative (supported by SASIG, sponsored by The Security Company International)

*William Hill Retail Security Department

*Kier Group Information Security Team

*Wilson James: The PwC Initiative

*Magenta Security Services

*Croma Vigilant

*Crystal Peaks Security Team

*HMRC: ‘Think Before You Click’

*VSG: The ZAP (Zero Assaults Project)



Outstanding Security Installer

*Phoenix Integrated Security

*2020 Vision Systems

*MES Systems

Outstanding Security Partnership

*Portsmouth Business Crime Reduction Partnership

*JLR Corporate Security and GMS Security Services

*Brighton & Hove Business Crime Reduction Partnership

*National Incident Communication Centre

*Safewatch (from Mitie and Facewatch)

*VSG Security Team: The Mall, Blackburn

*Ultimate Security Services and Chiswick Park Enjoy Work

*SmartWater and the Metropolitan Police Service Mettrace Team

Outstanding Investigator

*Praemunitus Police Capcity Building Team (Somaliland)

*Derek Gent

*Christopher Cully

Outstanding Cyber Security Initiative

*Cambridge2Cambridge Cyber Security Challenge

*MX by Majenta Solutions

*HMRC: ‘Think Before You Click’

*’Be Cyber Aware At Sea’ Campaign (Initiative)

*Compass by Auriga Consulting

Outstanding Information Security Company


*Templar Executives


*JWC International

Outstanding Security Equipment Manufacturer

*Selectamark Security Systems

*Bradbury Group




*GJD Manufacturing


Outstanding Security Officer

*Donald Santiago

*Micheal Foster

*Fiona McCaffery

*Zharko Angelov

*Danny Ings

*Jordan Garnett

*Dominic Woodley

*Stan Elliott

*Daniel McClendon

Lifetime Achievement Award (sponsored by The Security Institute)

*Winner to be announced on the night of the awards

The 2017 UK OSPAs Ceremony is being held on Thursday 2 March at the London Marriott Hotel in Grosvenor Square and will be hosted by popular broadcaster Nick Ross. There will be a drinks reception, a three-course dinner with wines, the awards presentation itself and an after party.

*For further information access the OSPAs website

You may also like